SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  SIG Pistols    Best beginner pistol?
Page 1 2 3 4 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Best beginner pistol? Login/Join 
posted
Hello. New member here. Brand new to pistol use (fired the M-16 during military service, so I know a little about those type of rifles).

What is the best SIG pistol for a beginner? Never fired a pistol before. Complete noob to pistol shooting. Any help for this beginner is appreciated. Thanks.

PS- looking for something that isn't "off the charts" expensive.

Posts: 8 | Registered: March 08, 2018Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
go to a range and rent. buy whichever you shoot best.

I would look for a p226/9 .22 pistol personally. More practice.

Posts: 3468 | Registered: January 27, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Thanks. Would something in 9mm or .45ACP be ok for a beginner? Or is that "out of my league"?

Picture of SigSentry
posted Hide Post
Sp2022 is the gateway SIG. good hunting.

Posts: 3484 | Registered: May 30, 2011Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
You say you're a noob. My suggestion would be to find an introductory handgun course that includes trying a variety of guns under an instructor's supervision.

"It is a capital mistake to theorize before one has data. Insensibly one begins to twist facts to suit theories, instead of theories to suit facts." Sherlock Holmes

Posts: 1286 | Registered: February 26, 2015Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Oriental Redneck
Picture of 12131
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by pistolnoob2018:
Hello. New member here. Brand new to pistol use (fired the M-16 during military service, so I know a little about those type of rifles).

What is the best SIG pistol for a beginner? Never fired a pistol before. Complete noob to pistol shooting. Any help for this beginner is appreciated. Thanks.

You never handled or fired a pistol during your military career? Eek

Q