SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  SIG Pistols    RMR’s and Red Dots on pistols...do I just not get it?
Page 1 2 3 4 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

RMR’s and Red Dots on pistols...do I just not get it? Login/Join 
Picture of bcjwriter
posted
OK...so after 27 years in Law Enforcement and just over 24 years as a firearms instructor, my agency staff are pushing for red-dots o duty pistols. The SWAT guys are all giddy about them, and others see the new systems as a better way to shoot.

OK...but I just don't get it. I've tried them, and they sow me way down. Compared to point shooting and using sights, the red dots seem so much slower as I struggle to find the dot when I should already be putting roads downrange. Second place is first loser in a gun fight, so speed is important.

OK so are they really that great? Or do others feel like me that red dots on pistols is just a fad.

This message has been edited. Last edited by: bcjwriter,

Posts: 1965 | Location: Southern CA | Registered: July 27, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Oriental Redneck
Picture of 12131
posted Hide Post
RDS are here to stay.

Q

Posts: 26373 | Location: TEXAS | Registered: September 04, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Sigforum K9 handler
Picture of jljones
posted Hide Post
Red dots do a ton for fundamental marksmanship.

First off, it forces you to clean up a sloppy draw. Yeah, it seems to be the first thing you notice on the switch. You can get away with a whole lot of misalignment on the sights on the presentation and survive with irons. With the red dot, not so much. A slight misalignment causes the dot to not be in the window. Practice really cleans up the presentation. Even when shooting irons.