SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  SIG Pistols    Legion Mainsprings
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Legion Mainsprings Login/Join 
I made it so far,
now I'll go for more
Picture of rbert0005
posted
Did Sig reduce the length of 229 mainsprings or is this just a Legion thing?

Picked up a 229 Legion yesterday and found the spring is shorter.

Bob

I am no expert, but think I am sometimes.

Posts: 4581 | Location: South Carolina | Registered: January 23, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
We gonna get some
oojima in this house!
Picture of smithnsig
posted Hide Post
The legions use the E2 strut spring assembly. Looks like they will eventually standardize to this if they already haven't.

-----------------------------------------------------------
TCB all the time...

Posts: 6501 | Location: Cantonment/Perdido Key, Florida | Registered: September 28, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Freethinker
Picture of sigfreund
posted Hide Post
The mainspring seat and strut of the newer SIG pistols have changed to work with the E2 grip, but the mainspring itself should be the same length. If not, I’d be interested in a photo.

6.4/93.6

“Wise men talk because they have something to say; fools, because they have to say something.”
— Plato

Posts: 47410 | Location: 10,150 Feet Above Sea Level in Colorado | Registered: April 04, 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
My experience has been that the same mainspring is used for both hammer strut assembly types. I've installed E2 and non-E2 at various times on P226 and P229.

Top is non-E2 (LONG base), bottom is E2 (SHORT base:

[IMG:left] [/IMG]

Posts: 4670 | Location: Pennsylvania | Registered: June 29, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
I made it so far,
now I'll go for more
Picture of rbert0005
posted Hide Post
I was going to put a reduced power mainspring in it but the spring is much too long for the strut.

The reduced power springs are longer but have a smaller dia wire.

Bob