SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  SIG Pistols    Police trade in P226 DAK
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Police trade in P226 DAK Login/Join 
posted
found this police trade in P226 DAK in 357 Sig online on Friday and just picked it up today. I’m excited as I’ve never owned a pistol in 357 Sig. Well, excited until I had to buy the ammo. Eek

It was advertised as very good condition. It’s a 2007 vintage with a few dings on the frame, especially the grip serrations. Night sights still glow. It was dry as bone when I picked it up and it still needs to be cleaned yet, but here she is. Sorry I’m not much of a photographer.

I really like the DAK so far. Granted I’m no expert but it is smooth and light.

Here’s my question: My understanding – and please correct me if I’m wrong – is that for range use, you can drop in a P226 9mm barrel, recoil spring, and magazine and shoot 9mm from it without much issue. I’d sure like to know if this is true before purchasing a conversion barrel or x-change kit.

Posts: 51 | Registered: April 24, 2016Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of MakOK
posted Hide Post
A drop in barrel would have to be a 9mm conversion barrel from Bar Sto if you don't change out the slide. The 357 sig is a necked down 40 cal. So the barrel outer diameter fitted to the slide is larger than the 9mm slide. A 40 cal factory barrel would fit fine. The factory 9mm P226 barrel would be too small diameter.

MakOK
------------------------------
"Take your time in a hurry" - Doc Holiday
"Slow is smooth, smooth is fast" - Sgt Alvin York

Posts: 32 | Registered: July 13, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Rail-less
and
Tail-less
posted Hide Post
I wish cops weren't allowed to be married so trade in Sigs wouldn't have all the finish rubbed off the front strap from their wedding rings Big Grin

Posts: 13190 | Location: Charlotte, NC | Registered: May 07, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Freethinker
Picture of sigfreund
posted Hide Post
quote: