SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  SIG Pistols    Winchester 124Gr 9mm
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Winchester 124Gr 9mm Login/Join 
posted
This area gets more traffic, so I'm posting here. Is Winchester's centerfire ammo any good. Specifically the 124g 9mm FMJ. Their rimfire is garbage that only runs in revolvers and bolt guns in my experience, hence my hesitance.

A Perpetual Disappointment...

Posts: 2735 | Location: BFE, Ohio | Registered: August 05, 2010Reply With QuoteReport This Post
His diet consists of black
coffee, and sarcasm.
Picture of egregore
posted Hide Post
Is that marked 9mm NATO? I've never had any trouble with it. It seems to be loaded a little hotter. The reason I ask is that the cheap Winchester known as WWB is 115-gr. Some individual pistols don't like WWB because it tends to be weak. There is also a steel case load in a brown box that is even cheaper, but I have no experience with this one.

Posts: 27928 | Location: Johnson City, TN | Registered: April 28, 2012Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of Prefontaine
posted Hide Post
I don’t care for it at all. I go Speer Lawman 124gr, Federal, American Eagle or Fiocchi in the grain. Winchester is dirty. Speer is my preferred. Runs clean, casings are great, top quality. When you are buying by the case all of it is so close in price there is little difference cost wise. I get all my ammo from SG in Stillwater OK.

What am I doing? I'm talking to an empty telephone

Posts: 12622 | Location: Down South | Registered: January 16, 2010Reply With QuoteReport This Post
When you fall, I will be there to catch you -With love, the floor
posted Hide Post
quote:
Winchester is dirty.

We used Winchester as our duty ammo for decades. I never found it overly dirty. Don't compare it to the ultra cheap white box.

I've used a ton of the 124 Winchester (because it was free). Never an issue of did I find the need to clean more often.