SIGforum
Anyone else remember the early 90s? (And those Big ol S&W Autos?)

This topic can be found at:
https://sigforum.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/430601935/m/5050079534

January 10, 2018, 08:04 PM
stylophiles
Anyone else remember the early 90s? (And those Big ol S&W Autos?)
Yeah, I'm old enough to remember when having a Smith 45 was "the" duty gun. The days of basketweave leather and Crown Vics.

Nowadays? Heck, I think I blew out a disc just looking at this thing!

But there was never any chance I was going to pass up getting my hands on not just a 4506, but the "uncommon" blued steel version, the 4505. I even found a few rounds of the (for the day) super cool CorBon 200 GR HP that used to prove you were an "expert gun guy".

Love it, and I can tell it's going to be a great shooter. But I can't believe I used to haul something this big around all day every day!

Bill R
January 10, 2018, 08:20 PM
swage
I have no experience with that particular handgun but I did just make it my screen saver.

Awesome picture!
January 10, 2018, 08:29 PM
9mmdude
I carried one for 18 months and at the time it seemed normal. Now I look at it like carrying a chunk of cement.
January 10, 2018, 08:39 PM
arfmel
First blue one I have ever seen.
January 10, 2018, 08:44 PM
sybo
That is a cool pic and I’ve never seen anything but stainless!
January 10, 2018, 08:49 PM
Jelly
Never seen a blue 4505 myself, pic nicely done. Had a 4506 but let it go when I got my 845 PC.

January 10, 2018, 08:56 PM
P-220
I had a 4506. It was a big gun for sure.

Your pic is fantastic.

Niech Zyje P-220

Steve
January 10, 2018, 09:03 PM
David Lee
I have to ask if the 2 Members who carried the 4505 were Customs Agents ? It is my understanding, all 1,200 of these pistols were carried by Customs. I bought a adjustable sight model when Customs upgraded I believe to Glocks. This was 16 years after the 4505s were givin to Customs. If either of you carried them daily as your Duty weapon, you were Customs ?