SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  SIG Pistols    Glock 19 w/ irons vs RMR
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Glock 19 w/ irons vs RMR Login/Join 
Picture of konata88
posted
I've been acclimating to the RMR, and to the suppressor height irons as well I guess.

Couple of things:
1. the RMR glass does have some distortion as you look through it. More apparent when using the irons.
2. The sight picture seems darker with the RMR, again more apparent when using the irons.
3. The RMR glass gets pretty dirty; gonna need to remember to regularly clean it.

I'm not an expert and likely will not run into close quarter (< 10 yards) scenarios in which those who carry vocationally may encounter where an RMR would be invaluable. I can see the utility but not sure it makes any difference for my skill level and for scenarios I might encounter. Speed, precision seem very similar for < 10 yards between irons and RMR. 2" groups are right on top of each other. I'll test more for speed differences as I get further acclimated with the RMR.

However, I've convinced myself that they do make a difference at longer distances, both in terms of speed and groups. Group with the RMR, for me, at 25 yards is more consistent and tighter than with irons.

Was shooting somewhat casually and comfortably but slow enough to try and make decent groups. Left side is irons, right side is with RMR. Again, I'm not a great shooter but I can keep to 2-3" groups at 10 yards; I'm not all over the paper. My groups do widen up at 25 yards though. Regardless, the pattern to me is statistically relevant and I believe the RMR has value for longer distances. Need to figure out how, but would like to get an RMR cut slide for my 20 for use in the woods. I'm not sure yet if I'll carry around town with an RMR.

"Wrong does not cease to be wrong because the majority share in it." L.Tolstoy
"A government is just a body of people, usually, notably, ungoverned." Shepherd Book