SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  SIG Pistols    How to polish stainless hammer flats ?
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

How to polish stainless hammer flats ? Login/Join 
Picture of wrightd
posted
I want to bright polish the trigger and hammer flats on a Ruger DA revolver. Does anyone know what types and grades of polishes and/or rouge I should use ? Also need same recommendation for type of buffer wheel I could use on some type of Dremel rotary tool. The Hammer flats are scratched to the point where you can feel it with your fingernail, so Flitz is not strong enough. Also need a rotary dremel type tool for the polishing wheel. Any advice appreciated on any of these since I have no experience with this type of treatment.

Lover of the US Constitution
Wile E. Coyote School of DIY Disaster

Posts: 8679 | Location: Nowhere the constitution is not honored | Registered: February 01, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Nosce te ipsum
Picture of Woodman
posted Hide Post
I've used Micro Mesh buffing sticks on stainless. The sets I have run 1,500 to 12,000 grit in nine sticks or pads (I have both). Also regular 400/600/1000/1500/2000 jewelers paper with a small block works great. The 2,000 gives the mirror shine. I think the grit gradings are different between the emory paper and the buffing sticks.

A set of MicroMesh sticks is about $11 from woodcraft.com and the pads are about double.

These days I use them mostly on ebony but I've used both sticks and paper when polishing both nickel alloy and stainless steel guitar frets. Mirror shine. Although trying to remove deep scratches, I'm not qualified to advise. Changing the weight of the hammer and such.

Working by hand over Dremel has its benefits. If you are going to make a mistake, you have plenty of time to see it coming.

Posts: 8759 | Registered: March 24, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, saves lives
posted Hide Post