Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Sig 229 Login/Join 
posted
Newbie here
Picked up a 229 on a whim serial #AC138XX IM GUESSING IS A ‘93 mfg. cal is 40 S&W. I’m a revolver guy so I know nothing about these pistols. I’d like some background information and value on this pistol. This d/SA fits my hand and I shoot it really well so I plan on keeping it. It is in excellent condition with the nitride finish. Comes with 2 12rd mags and grey plastic case. I’d post pics but don’t know how.
Thanks
Wilbur

Posts: 8 | Location: Wake Forest & Emerald Isle N. C. | Registered: March 10, 2018Reply With QuoteReport This Post
My other Sig
is a Steyr.
Picture of .38supersig
posted Hide Post
Late '92 / early '93 seems right. I have a similar 229 that I decided to modify somewhat.

I added aluminum grips to get a better feel as the old ones were cracked, a solid guide rod (it seemed like a good idea at the time), and a short reset trigger kit, to reduce how far the trigger is released before it is ready to fire again.

Yours should serve you well for many years. Welcome to the forum from Georgia.

Posts: 9112 | Location: Somewhere looking for ammo that nobody has at a place I haven't been to for a pistol I couldn't live without... | Registered: December 02, 2014Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Oriental Redneck
Picture of 12131
posted Hide Post
Congrats, and welcome to SF.
You got one very early P229, with what we'd call the Legacy slide (the original P229 slide with half height rear serrations, with the short extractor). Should have serial number on frame, slide, and barrel. Frame should be Made In Germany.

Q

Posts: 26203 | Location: TEXAS | Registered: September 04, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
That's just the
Flomax talking
Picture of GaryBF
posted Hide Post