SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  SIG Pistols    Magazine maintenance/ spring question
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Magazine maintenance/ spring question Login/Join 
Smarter than the
average bear
posted
I generally keep my magazines clean, with a very light coat of oil inside and out and on the spring for rust prevention. In another thread questioning P320 mags, someone posted this video:

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=zdzfqZF6e8s

I pretty much maintain my mags as he shows in the video, with one big exception: he stretches the spring before reassembling the magazine. My understanding is that it is a big no-no to stretch a spring because it will significantly shorten the useful life.

I suppose you will get a temporary benefit of a stronger spring, and maybe get a little more life out of an old worn out spring, but I would never do that as regular maintenance with a new or normally functioning spring. But I'm not a mechanical engineer or a metallurgist. Am I wrong?

Posts: 3424 | Location: Baton Rouge, Louisiana | Registered: June 20, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
7.62mm Crusader
posted Hide Post
He didn't actually stretch the spring, more like a flex and I wouldn't bother doing that. It didn't damage the spring but, does nothing for it. Also, its OK to clean the inside of the mag tube and add a fine coat of thin lube, I still would dry patch it so nothing more than a film remains. Dont be jamming no large rag out through the feed lips. Change the integrity of those and you earn feed issues. I used Breakfree and bore patches on mine followed by dry patch.

Posts: 17891 | Location: The Bluegrass State! | Registered: December 23, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Sigforum K9 handler
Picture of jljones
posted Hide Post
Here's the thing, Honestlou. Magazines, and mag springs are consumable items. People always talk about preserving the life of a magazine like it had the life cycle of a cockatoo.