SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  SIG Pistols    Setting Up A Laser Range, My Observations
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Setting Up A Laser Range, My Observations Login/Join 
E tan e epi tas
Picture of cslinger
posted
I want to start out by pointing out a couple things about myself.

I am not a gunfighter, super secret squirrel card carrying member, LEO, DELTAOPERATORSEALGSG9BRO, Girl Scout Den Leader nor did I stay in a Holiday Inn Express last night. I do not really want to be or do any of these things.

I am a hobbyist shooter who has been very lucky to shoot an own a VAST number of different firearms. I have no illusions, dreams or desires to use violence of any kind on anybody.

I say the above only to preface the fact that I am only providing my own personal experience here and in no way am I saying you should or shouldn't do X, Y or Z.

Now as I have said I shoot a wide range of guns and as such I am very comfortable with just about anything but have never devoted to one to be fantastic with that single platform. I am a passable shooter.

About a year ago I decided that I needed to do more dry firing, as we all know this is a way more critical component to shooting than most give credit. I then decided I wanted more feedback so I picked up a laser cartridge (Surestrike / Laser Ammo). While this did help and add to my enjoyment it still didn't scratch the itch to make me want to dry fire more. So I started looking into hit spotting software.

I didn't want to pay the big bucks so I tinkered with several different free/low cost versions over the past year and at best they were buggy and at worst they didn't work at all. I recently decided to give it another go and thought to my self. "Self, wait a minute.....there's gotta be an APP for that!!"