SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  SIG Pistols    So I am a student of the Gun......
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

So I am a student of the Gun...... Login/Join 
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by jljones:You are confusing luck with a predisposed outcome. The rooster crows, the sun comes up, therefore the rooster had to make the sun come up.

That's as foolish, and reckless as the tactical Ted crowd.

I guess it all comes down to level of performance vs needed performance in a given situation. If your draw time is 30 seconds and you shoot 3' groups at 3 yards, you'll probably lose most of the time. If the first indication of trouble is catching a bullet in the back of the head, it won't matter how fast or accurate you are.

Who really knows what skill level is needed to get a person to 90%, 95%, 99% ? As with most things, that last increment of proficiency often comes at a high cost. Time and money. If doubling your practice time and ammo takes you from 50% to 99% it's a great return. If doubling gets you 99.9 instead of 99.0 it's probably insignificant to an individual who is unlikely to even test it once in a lifetime.

Posts: 8944 | Location: The Red part of Minnesota | Registered: October 06, 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Marksmanship, gun handling skills, and mindset. Removing one of these legs and the stool topples over pretty quick. (Pun intended for those paying attention...) Luck is never an acceptable tactic.

Ignem Feram

Posts: 528 | Registered: October 03, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Oriental Redneck
Picture of 12131
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by mlazarus:
Marksmanship, gun handling skills, and mindset. Removing one of these legs and the stool topples over pretty quick. (Pun intended for those paying attention...) Luck is never an acceptable tactic.

Luck, by its very nature, is not, and cannot be a tactic.

Q