SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  SIG Pistols    Picked up a 1911 Colt Government Model
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Picked up a 1911 Colt Government Model Login/Join 
Picture of Redhookbklyn
posted

Sorry for the terrible iPad picture. If I was a photographer I would starve to death.

Never owned a Colt 1911 before, do have a couple of SIG's. Just thought I would try a plain Jane 1911.

Fired 200 rounds of PPU 230gr FMJ through it today. No issues, trigger was okay, shot quite well actually. I was pleasantly surprised.

“There is love in me the likes of which you’ve never seen. There is rage in me the likes of which should never escape."
—Mary Shelley, Frankenstein

Posts: 1935 | Location: South Carolina  | Registered: January 01, 2014Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Go ahead punk, make my day
posted Hide Post
I have the same Colt 1911 but blued.

I enjoy it.

Posts: 45798 | Registered: July 12, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
One of the truly great firearms. Reliable, powerful, the definition of "combat accuracy."

One of these days I'll have to replace mine.

Congratulations!

--------------------------
Every normal man must be tempted, at times, to spit on his hands, hoist the black flag, and begin slitting throats.
-- H L Mencken

I always prefer reality when I can figure out what it is.
-- JALLEN 10/18/18

Posts: 9158 | Location: Illinois farm country | Registered: November 15, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I have the same gun in blue as well. Replaced trigger and did some polishing, this helped the trigger pull very much.

Love the 1911.

Posts: 25 | Registered: September 30, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
The Great Equalizer
Picture of colt_saa
posted Hide Post
Congratulations on the new addition

I am a huge fan of the 1911 platform

The firearm design gets an undeserved bad reputation.

------------------------------------------------------------------