SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  SIG Pistols    Cleaning my 226
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Cleaning my 226 Login/Join 
posted
I'm new to sigs and have about 750 rounds through my 226 tacops. I have read ALOT of cleaning and lubing threads, and it isn't my first handgun. I've come to really like the Lucas oil sample that came with my 226. I've been using that and I'm either going to get more of that or just start using mobile 1 synthetic.

My question is about how and when to clean the action and lower portion of my 226. The reason I ask is because when I bought the gun, the guy at the LGS said to shoot 500 rounds and bring it back to him and he will dunk it in the ultrasonic cleaner for me and then we will only lube the parts that need it. He showed me his legion and he runs it fairly dry in my opinion, compared to other pictures and videos I've seen of sigs after being lubed. But he said by doing this, breaking the gun in with all the factory lube for 500 rounds, and then cleaning it in the ultra sonic cleaner, then lubing only the necessary parts, my trigger and action will be butter smooth.

It's not that I don't trust this guys opinion or method, I just want to make sure the right lubes are going in the right places. When I take my slide off and look down in front of the hammer it looks like a white milky residue. Hard to tell if it's grease or oil in there.

I love this gun and it is my first da/sa and I'm getting really comfortable with it. I just don't want to screw anything up.

Thanks in advance!

Posts: 13 | Registered: February 12, 2017Reply With QuoteReport This Post
That's just the
Flomax talking
Picture of GaryBF
posted Hide Post
The SIG factory used to use Mil-Comm TW-25B grease in the guns. That may be the white stuff you see.

I do not think it is necessary to deep clean you gun very often. If you do a deep clean, I think it is better to do a detail strip rather than dunk in cleaner. SIGs are relatively easy to detail strip.