SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  SIG Pistols    Hoppes 9 Gun Bore Cleaner
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Hoppes 9 Gun Bore Cleaner Login/Join 
The Truth
Picture of Luis
posted
Anyone use it for other than cleaning just the bbl? Is it ok to use on the rails as lube? Im talking about the ripe banana smelling juice.

The reason I ask is because no matter how hard I tried to thoroughly clean my pistol it still smells too much like burnt propellant. That Hoppes 9 finishes up smelling very sweet and pleasant. Brings back childhood memories of when I started shooting guns.

I used to use Break Free CLP because it did a nice job of removing the odor of burnt propellant and smelled pleasant too. But the new formulation is acrid smelling. I did, however, find something that is very close to the old Break Free CLP. Its the new Hoppes 9 Bore Snake CLP. The problem with it is it did not remove the odor of propellant. Im about to try the overly ripe banana smelling Hoppes 9. TIA

Posts: 4328 | Location: A hop, skip and a jump from the bayou. S East Tx, USA | Registered: October 13, 2000Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of SiGagain
posted Hide Post
it is a cleaner (Hoppe's #9 Bore Cleaner) and not a lube so as a lube it would fail...

https://www.hoppes.com/Hoppes/...uide_Final_Lores.pdf

I'm sure Hoppe's and others will have a separate lube to your liking...good luck,

Bill

Fast is Fine...Accuracy is Final
*SiGARMS GSR Revolution STX
*SiG/Sauer*P220*P226*P228*P230*P245*SPC2009*P365

NRA Benefactor Life/LEAA Life Membership

Posts: 2410 | Location: ChicagoLand, USA | Registered: November 28, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of fpuhan
posted Hide Post
What SiGagain said. Personally, I've used TW25B for years.

ETA: Hoppes makes a gun grease, also.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B016..._encoding=UTF8&psc=1