SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  SIG Pistols    P365 update from Phil Strader
Page 1 2 3 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

P365 update from Phil Strader Login/Join 
The Blue Machine
Picture of Phred
posted Hide Post
Do you recommend blue or red locktite?

Posts: 1626 | Location: South Carolina | Registered: February 27, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Go ahead punk, make my day
posted Hide Post
Locktite on dovetail sights?

Ah, while that may overcome a problem, it's not a fix IMO.

Posts: 45798 | Registered: July 12, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
The guy behind the guy
Picture of esdunbar
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by RHINOWSO:

I would never consider locktight on a dovetail sight a solution.

Posts: 7548 | Registered: April 19, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by RHINOWSO:

Permanent loctite is the perfect fix for this issue. I have been using it on every sight change for over 30 years without a failure.

Posts: 210 | Registered: February 17, 2012Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Dovetail sights are an interference fit. Too loose a fit cannot and should not be fixed by chemical means, including loctite or other adhesive. A loose dovetail needs staking on the site, a set screw, or other mechanical changes; locktite isn't designed or intended to replace these. Loctite would be used correctly on a set screw mechanically securing a site, but not as a bandaid to fix a site that's loose enough in the dovetail to migrate under use.

Posts: 6650 | Registered: September 13, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Fuimus
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by sns3guppy: