SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  SIG Pistols    V Crown ammo question
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

V Crown ammo question Login/Join 
posted
I recently picked up an older Sig P229 in 40 S&W. I plan to use Sig V Crown ammo for home defense. When I slingshot to load the first round, I feel a slight hesitation when the bullet hits the ramp. I don't feel it when I load with the slide release. I've never had this issue with my Sig nines using the same type of hollow point ammo. Is this normal?

Posts: 273 | Location: South Carolina | Registered: March 16, 2011Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I have limited experience with that round in .40 in my P-320, perhaps 60-80 rounds. Never a problem, but I use the slide release almost always when shooting. The 180 gr. round appears to be a very good performer from the table linked on this thread a few pages back.

https://sigforum.com/eve/forums...0601935/m/5840009154

I'm planning to make a run today or tomorrow to pick up a few more boxes of it to further prove it. Best advice I can offer is to shoot it some more; is your 229 pretty tight?

Posts: 3221 | Registered: August 03, 2015Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Prepared for the Worst, Providing the Best
Picture of 92fstech
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by les45:
I recently picked up an older Sig P229 in 40 S&W. I plan to use Sig V Crown ammo for home defense. When I slingshot to load the first round, I feel a slight hesitation when the bullet hits the ramp. I don't feel it when I load with the slide release. I've never had this issue with my Sig nines using the same type of hollow point ammo. Is this normal?