SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  SIG Pistols    Legalities Of CCW and Ammo Choice
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Legalities Of CCW and Ammo Choice Login/Join 
posted
I'm no lawyer but I'm wondering what some general legalities are regarding lethal self defense use of force with a handgun. Yes, I know it varies from state to state but anti 2A lawyers and judges work in all 50 US states. I assume just about any lawyer can use whatever tactic a judge allows regarding bringing charges against the victim for their use of deadly force.

Assuming someone successfully defended themselves with a derringer, a 5 round revolver, a 6 or 7 round revolver or a semi automatic handgun nearing 20 rounds in a magazine. When does a lawyer accuse you of carrying an offensive weapon instead of a defensive weapon? Even the choice of some self defensive ammo seems to open the door for some lawyers.

I hear lawyers and guests on talk shows like Gun Talk with Tom Gresham or AAR with Mark Walters and they bring up some crazy lawsuits brought against private citizens and police after they defend themselves. The need for a lawyer isn't an option for a victim, it's mandatory.

I've seen people carrying an AR pistol with several extra 30 round magazines and never thought that person has defense on their minds in the real world. I have thanked them for exercising their 2A rights as well as for being the voluntary dedicated victim for anyone with bad intentions.

So, does someone who puts down an assailant with one or two rounds of ball ammo from their derringer have it easier in court than if they used a 15 rounds Speer Gold Dot from a G17?

Or are the particulars with lawyers and what judges may allow to varied for general guidelines?

God Bless You and Your House,

Mark
www.bikersforchrist.org

Posts: 232 | Registered: November 10, 2018Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Spread the Disease
Picture of flesheatingvirus
posted Hide Post