SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  SIG Pistols    My Zev OZ9c Intial Review/Story
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

My Zev OZ9c Intial Review/Story Login/Join 
Picture of GroundedCLK
posted
About me:

I have been shooting since I was 10 on all different types of platforms. I started shooting Steel Challenge competitions when I was 18. Then IDPA a few months later, I loved doing it as scary as it was. I have bought and sold many many guns, ranging from $100 to $6000 for a single piece. With each one of those pieces, I can honestly say my experience with them was night and day from the ZEV OZ9c.

My gun:

ZEV OZ9c in black with a bronze threaded barrel. Brand new picked it up this morning and drove to the range. The first thing I did was install a Trijicon RMR 07 Type 2 6.5 MOA. Then lightly oiled the rails, trigger, and barrel.

The range:

Now, I am not going to force you through a round by round review. On my range trip, I brought 100rds of 115gr, 50rds of 124gr, 50rds of 147gr.

First 5 rounds:

Bang. Click, the gun would not return to battery.
The next round would not go into the chamber.
The next round would not go into the chamber.

Next 50 rounds:

The same thing, I had to tap/push the back of the slide to force the gun back into action for every single round.

The trigger would not reset, making the gun and trigger feel clunky.

I attempted to disassemble the gun so I could lube it up. The slide would not come off the frame. I ended up needing to use a poly hammer to force the slide off and then back on. I removed the RMR figuring maybe it was causing something to "rub" and slow down the slide. None of this helped at all.

Next 50 rounds:

The gun started to loosen up as I continued shooting. I was able to fire a 5 round string before the gun locked up. This lasted off and on for the entire 50 rounds.

Final 45 rounds:

Finally was able to fire three 15 round magazines with no malfunctions.

Conclusion: