SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  SIG Pistols    Dr. Strangeglock or How I Learned to Love the Plastic Gun
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Dr. Strangeglock or How I Learned to Love the Plastic Gun Login/Join 
Picture of caneau
posted
I hate stock Glocks. And based on the response to a previous thread of mine, so do a lot of people. Here are my personal complaints:

1) The plastic grip slides around in my hand like a bar of soap.
2) The stock sights are plastic and awful
3) The trigger is mushy and unpleasant to shoot
4) The grip angle is awkward
5) I find the magazine release hard to use
6) My hand catches on the slide stop
7) The finger grooves on full size models don't work for me at all
8) The gun is overall too big for my hands

I think that about covers it.

Twenty years ago when I started shooting Glocks I found them mediocre at best. They were second class compared to the trick 1911s and target .22s I grew up shooting. Luckily, I'm not the only one with these issues and the aftermarket and Glock responded.

The first Glock I really liked was the Gen 4 G19. But it took a while. First there was the recall for the ejector. Then I needed to install a Gen 2 extractor to fix an erratic ejection problem. Trijicon HD sights made the gun easy to aim, an A-Grip wrap made the gun easy to hold, and an Overwatch Precision trigger plus sone polishing made the gun easy to shoot. Put it all together and it's not the same gun. And it's been my go-to carry gun for the last few years.

And then I shot a buddy's RMR-equipped gun. I was hooked. Both eyes open shooting is amazing for someone who doesn't have a strongly dominant eye (thank you contact lenses). So I built one.