SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  SIG Pistols    The .40 caliber now out of favor. Well who could have guessed?
Page 1 2 3 4 5 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

The .40 caliber now out of favor. Well who could have guessed? Login/Join 
Picture of sig sailor
posted
I have been interested in handguns and calibers for the passed fifty years. No I am not an expert, just an observer. I am always amused when the newest darling/fad caliber comes out and it is reported that LEO/military are switching to it is droves. Shoot, I am old enough to remember when the 357 Mag. was thought to be the be all and end all of man stoppers. The one constant in all this fad caliber foolishness, is that after it has run it's course, we always come back to either 9mm or 45ACP or both. I have never owned a handgun that wasn't either 9mm or 45ACP and I doubt I ever will. I'll let others spend their money on fad calibers and then take a beating selling them when the caliber goes out of favor.
I will now put on my flame retardant coveralls, so feel free to flame away. Smile
Rod

"Do not approach a bull from the front, a horse from the rear, or a fool from any direction." John Deacon, Author

Posts: 1673 | Location: Between Rock & Hard Place (Pontiac & Detroit) | Registered: December 22, 2010Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
There are a lot of discussions to be had about cartridge chambering, but the notion of which is "best" is tired and pointless.

.40 is still widely in use, and many of us own .40 firearms. That it has been a law enforcement mainstay for decades is not really a "fad." You're free to choose what you wish to own or carry, of course.