SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  SIG Pistols    LDD Interviews Grayguns: Bruce Gray
Page 1 2 3 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

LDD Interviews Grayguns: Bruce Gray Login/Join 
Administrator
posted
This interview with Bruce Gray, president of Grayguns is the second of a three part series. The final part will be travelogue by me which will be posted later. The first interview, with Rick Holm, can be found here: https://sigforum.com/eve/forums...0601935/m/5010054773

Bruce, why don’t we start with your background in shooting, how did you start, etc?

I started shooting because I failed statistics in college. I wanted to be an oceanographer and, uh, my wife Becki, she jokes that an IQ of 180 is kind of wasted on a guy who can’t balance a checkbook. I just don’t have math installed. I can estimate very well.

I was working part time when I was a freshman in highschool for a guy with a camera shop in Rancho Cordova, California: Art Newman. And Art also had, along with a large camera collection, he had a really extensive gun collection. And one day he gave me a rifle, a 30-40 1899 Krag carbine to make a firing pin for. I spent, I don’t know, about a month at my brother’s lathe with a bunch of barstock. When I finally succeeded, he gave me the rifle out of recognition for being a good kid or something, not sure why. He was a nice guy. [LDD: I asked Bruce if he still had the carbine and the answer was no, regretfully it was sold out of financial necessity]