SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  SIG Pistols    Sig P229 stainless Elite FTE
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Sig P229 stainless Elite FTE Login/Join 
Picture of Sagacious
posted
I am an owner of a P229 Stainless Elite 9mm manufactured in 2014. I have 5 other Sigs I've been shooting for 20 years. Those 5 are totally reliable. The 229 has been back to the factory twice and they have replaced the extractor spring and opened the chamber. There is nothing else they were willing to do. Sig says when they use the specific brand of ammunition they always use they find no problem. I find FTE problems with reputable name brands and commercial reloads.

Prior to contacting them the first time I did a little investigating myself. I noticed a small ding in the front of the extractor ring of several shells that failed to extract. Upon further examination I found the same ding on all the empty cases. I then marked several cases so I then individually hand chambered. That allowed me to see that the ding was being made at the same location as the extractor. My next step was to remove the barrel and see how the case fit against the breech face. It was my observation that the extractor prevented the shell from fitting flat on the breech face. I never could figure out how to measure or see if the case was flat on the breech face when the pistol was in battery. I did note that a when a shell was loaded into battery then ejected without being fired there was a minute mark, possibly from the ejector.

My conclusion is that the extractor is either to long or the front of the extractor "hook" is the wrong shape.