SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  SIG Pistols    Need Red Dot Advice
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Need Red Dot Advice Login/Join 
posted
I have no experience with Red Dot optics. I am setting up a new Ruger Mark IV. I am having a Volquartsen trigger put in and want to add a Red Dot. I purchased a Vortex Venmon with a 3 MOA dot and now I am not sure about the 3 MOA. I am not going to shoot on a competative level just targets and plinking at 25 yards or so. I have not opened the Vortex box and can return it.
Now the question. Would more experienced shooters go with the 3 MOA or opt for a larger dot?

Thanks
Art

Posts: 208 | Location: Littleton, Co. USA | Registered: August 11, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of mrtuna
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Art in Colorado:
I have no experience with Red Dot optics. I am setting up a new Ruger Mark IV. I am having a Volquartsen trigger put in and want to add a Red Dot. I purchased a Vortex Venmon with a 3 MOA dot and now I am not sure about the 3 MOA. I am not going to shoot on a competative level just targets and plinking at 25 yards or so. I have not opened the Vortex box and can return it.
Now the question. Would more experienced shooters go with the 3 MOA or opt for a larger dot?

Thanks
Art

Sometimes it helps to calculate how large the dot will be at the distance you shoot most often. 1 MOA is 1.047 inches at 100 yards. 3 MOA at 25 yards is .785 inches in diameter. That's pretty small. If you can see it well and have good enough eyes to pick it up quickly the 3 MOA seems to work well for most people. If it's for carry and fast close shots are the most important people especially us older guys often bump it up to 6.

Training as often as possible!
NSSF Media Member

Posts: 1577 | Location: Las Vegas, NV | Registered: May 31, 2010Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post