SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  SIG Pistols    What options are there to refinish a stainless steel 1911?
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

What options are there to refinish a stainless steel 1911? Login/Join 
Res ipsa loquitur
Picture of BB61
posted
I have a Kimber Series 1 Classic Stainless. It was carried for several years by a friend as his duty gun. Obviously, it shows honest wear. Outside of that, it is in outstanding condition. As such, I was wondering if there is a realistic option to bring it back to like new condition? Picture of the pistol (click on the image to enlarge). Thanks.
[IMG:left] [/IMG]

Posts: 12465 | Registered: October 13, 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post
The Persian
Picture of PPGMD
posted Hide Post
I'm no expert on bead blasting, but I would think you can just bead blast the gun again.

But if you are looking for alternative finishes, I am a big fan of H&M Metal Processing's Black Nitride finish.

-------
A turbo: Exhaust gasses go into the turbocharger and spin it, witchcraft happens, and you go faster.

Mr. Doom and Gloom
"King in the north!"
"Slow is smooth... and also slow.

Posts: 20052 | Location: At the wall | Registered: February 13, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Certified All Positions
Picture of arcwelder
posted Hide Post
You have a few options, it could be repolished, or taken to a matte, beadblasted, chromed, or coated also.

Arc.
"You're a junkyard dog." - Lupe Flores. RIP

Posts: 27000 | Location: On fire, off the shoulder of Orion | Registered: June 09, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of jcat
posted Hide Post
you'd probably need to either polish it, bead blast it or cerakote it in a bright silver color. Maybe even a hard chrome or nickel finish like NP3 or something along those lines.

Posts: 9958 | Location: RI | Registered: October 08, 2012Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of Cobra21
posted Hide Post