SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  SIG Pistols    Handgun for self defense
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Handgun for self defense Login/Join 
Picture of dc54
posted
I’ve been carrying a handgun on a pretty much daily basis for about 25 years. In all those years I have never had to shoot anyone or even draw my gun. I’m very grateful for that fact!! Only once have I felt the need to put my hand on my gun to discourage a very aggressive “panhandler”. It seems that reaching for something on the belt behind your hip is a somewhat universal sign. I was wondering how many non law enforcement folks have actually had to use their handgun in self defense. I don’t plan on giving up the practice, but I’m just curious as to how often does the need arise? I’m zero for 25 years. Hopefully that’s the norm.

Sigs, HKs, 1911s, Berettas, Glocks and SW revolvers

Posts: 1034 | Location: GA | Registered: February 04, 2013Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Zero in 30 years and happy about it...still carry.

Posts: 559 | Location: Virginia | Registered: January 06, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
None other than as a combat infantryman. I carry all of the time but have never had to use a weapon to protect myself.

I have dispatched a few varmints on the ranch.

Posts: 702 | Location: Gatesville, TX | Registered: January 07, 2011Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Age Quod Agis
Picture of ArtieS
posted Hide Post
I've carried for 11 years now, and while there have been a few times where I was glad to have it handy, I never needed it for 2 legged types. Not even to reach for it.

I have pulled it in the woods when approached by a feral hog on a trail, but the hog ignored me and trotted off into the woods.

"I vowed to myself to fight against evil more completely and more wholeheartedly than I ever did before. . . . That’s the only way to pay back part of that vast debt, to live up to and try to fulfill that tremendous obligation."