SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  SIG Pistols    New to red dots on pistols and have a maintenance question.
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

New to red dots on pistols and have a maintenance question. Login/Join 
Master-at-Arms
Picture of apf383
posted
Just got my P320 .45ACP back from having my Venom mounted and I have a quick question. What do I clean the optics with? There is gunpowder and crap all over the front of the "glass" after my first range session. Also, I've got it sighted in perfectly and am wondering how you guys lock those settings down? The clicks don't feel tactile enough to hold zero, but I don't know as this is my first time around. I'm considering marking the screws so I can see if they have turned. Any thoughts on that? Thanks to all. Nice little optic btw, not very much distortion in the lens.

Obligatory picture:

This message has been edited. Last edited by: apf383,

Foster's, Australian for Bud

Posts: 7489 | Location: Stuck in NY, FUAC  | Registered: November 22, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I clean mine with the stuff I use for my eyeglasses. An alcohol based liquid and a clean lint free cloth given to me with my glasses by the optometrist. anything soft with a glass cleaner will work fine. In a pinch at matches I've used a my shirt and some brakeclean.

“So in war, the way is to avoid what is strong, and strike at what is weak.”

Posts: 10966 | Registered: October 14, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I like Novus #1 plastic cleaner and a microfiber.

Posts: 21335 | Registered: June 12, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of JSB3
posted Hide Post
I had an M17 and a few friends have 320s. In our group, the Sigs were horrible at fouling up the Red Dots. Within 100 rounds the Red Dots were coated with residue.
My G35 and G19 MOS have never fouled up the Red Dot.