SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  SIG Pistols    What do you like for all around sights? (1911)
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

What do you like for all around sights? (1911) Login/Join 
Picture of myrottiety
posted
Going on the trend with my 1911 threads.

I have zero to no experience with aftermarket sights. They've always been manufacturers sights or Manufacturers night sights. (Example: Sig X-Ray or Glock night sights)

The slide is cut for Novak sights. I know there is no one trick pony. Is there a happy medium to the following:
- Target Shooting (Paper)
- Fast Acquisition
- Low light shooting in case its first I grab at night.

Train how you intend to Fight

Remember - Training is not sparring. Sparring is not fighting. Fighting is not combat.

Posts: 8851 | Location: Woodstock, GA | Registered: August 04, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of T.Webb
posted Hide Post
I really like the 10-8 Precision solid black rear sight sitting behind a red fiberoptic up front. The rear has a "U" shaped notch. They came standard on my Wilson Combat and I upgraded to them on my Shield(s) and Glock 19.

For night sights, I like the Trijicon HD's. The rear uses the same "U" shaped notch with 2 small tritium inserts and the front has an orange dot with a small tritium insert. Just like the 10-8;s the front blade is a bit narrower than the rear "U" notch to allow light to pass by. I have these on my FN 509, and my Sig 228 and 229.

"Tonight, we are a country awakened to danger and called to defend freedom. Our grief has turned to anger and anger to resolution. Whether we bring our enemies to justice or bring justice to our enemies, justice will be done". {George W. Bush, Post 9/11}

Posts: 842 | Location: Long Island, N.Y. / Stephentown, N.Y. | Registered: March 20, 2010Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of tha1000
posted Hide Post
Dawson precision bomar rear and FO front.