SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  SIG Pistols    Leaving Mag's loaded?
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Leaving Mag's loaded? Login/Join 
posted
I read years ago in a magazine that the author knew a W-W II vet who died and he went to help the widow out. He found a loaded 1911 from that era in a bedside end table that he thought was left loaded for several decades. He took that 1911 without any maintenance and shot till empty without any problems. So with the mag springs that we have today is it a problem to leave them loaded for pro-longed periods?

Posts: 208 | Location: Littleton, Co. USA | Registered: August 11, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of SR025
posted Hide Post
I've never had any issues leaving magazines loaded for long periods of time.

Posts: 840 | Location: DFW | Registered: January 04, 2017Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Membership has its privileges
Picture of P-220
posted Hide Post
I am no expert, but I have not experienced any problems.

There are people smarter than me who understand springs. I have been told it is compressing and decompressing them that causes fatigue.

Leaving them loaded or unloaded will not affect the integrity of the spring.

YMMV.

Niech Zyje P-220

Steve

Posts: 36838 | Location: 45174 | Registered: December 09, 2001Reply With QuoteReport This Post
E tan e epi tas
Picture of cslinger
posted Hide Post
It's a case by case basis. Generally speaking it's the cycling of the spring that wears them but springs can still take a set. Much of it comes down to the quality and design of the mag/spring.

Generally speaking leaving mags loaded for long periods of time is not an issue with modern high quality mags. If the do start having problems it usually exhibits as slide not locking back.

"Guns are tools. The only weapon ever created was man."

Posts: 7674 | Location: On the water | Registered: July 25, 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post
For real?
Picture of Chowser
posted Hide Post