SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Suppressed Weapons    Of Breaking Sound Barriers, Bullets, And Suppression. School Me Please.

Closed Topic Closed
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools
Of Breaking Sound Barriers, Bullets, And Suppression. School Me Please. Login/Join 
No Compromise
posted
I’m relying on the SIGforum Brain trust to help sort this out.

Many of us have tirelessly experimented to find what ordnance from what firearm give the lowest sound signature when using a certain suppressor. I’m relatively new to the suppressor party, and would appreciate some starting help.

These are just the normal rounds I am trying to fire at subsonic speeds to avoid sonic booms:

.22 ACP -Standard 36gn-40gn -SilencerCo Specter II (22lr)

9mm -Standard 147gn Ball ammo -SilencerCo Octane HD .45 ACP

.40 S&W -Standard 180gn Truncated Nose - SilencerCo Octane HD .45 ACP

.45 ACP -Standard 230gn Ball ammo - SilencerCo Octane HD .45 ACP

.308 -Standard 149gn -SilencerCo Omega (762X51)

As you can see from the list, most of these choices aren't going to work subsonic.

What changes do I have to make to my list in order to fire these calibers subsonic?

Are any of these rounds naturally subsonic?

What brands/grains/loadings work for you to achieve subsonic firing?

H&K-Guy

posted Hide Post
.22LR - just buy the standard velocity or subsonic loads.

9mm 147 standard should be subsonic in pistol.

40 180 should be subsonic in a pistol.

.45 subsonic.

.308 149 No, supersonic.
http://rifleshooter.com/2014/1...velocity-28-to-16-5/

Speed of sound 1,125 fps.

Freethinker
Picture of sigfreund
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by H&K-Guy:
Are any of these rounds naturally subsonic?