SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Suppressed Weapons    Center fire rifle cans

Closed Topic Closed
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools
Center fire rifle cans Login/Join 
posted
Hey all-

I'm just getting started with suppressors.

I am curious: what calibers do you use which cans with?

5.56: can you use this with anything 5.56 and smaller? 204 Ruger? 22 Magnum? 22 LR? Any restrictions besides staying under that bore size?

30 cal (Omega): 5.56, .308, 300 Blackout, I know. Anything else?

Thanks,

Bruce

Hanlon's Razor /prov./ A corollary of Finagle's Law, similar to Occam's Razor, that reads "Never attribute to malice that which can be adequately explained by stupidity."

"It is better to be considered a house cat and sit on the lap of pretty girls than to be feared as a tiger and hunted by men."- T. Takamatsu

Posts: 2291 | Location: NV | Registered: October 06, 2011Report This Post
so sexy it hurts
Picture of agony
posted Hide Post
I would check with the manufacturer's recommendations first before you shoot other calibers.

I wouldn't shoot 22lr through a centerfire can unless you can take it apart yourself to clean it. 22lr is super-dirty.

"You have the right not to be killed..."

The Clash, "Know Your Rights"

Posts: 26464 | Location: Westizzle Virgizzle | Registered: December 19, 2001Report This Post
Freethinker
Picture of sigfreund
posted Hide Post
I have a Thunder Beast 30P-1/Ultra (hybrid) that I use with 223/5.56, 300 Blackout, 308 Winchester, and 300 Winchester Magnum. Short of subsonic ammunition, it’s quietest with 223, but it’s also larger than most suppressors dedicated to that cartridge.

“Most men … can seldom accept the simplest and most obvious truth if it … would oblige them to admit the falsity of conclusions … which they have woven, thread by thread, into the fabrics of their lives.”
— Leo Tolstoy

Posts: 36903 | Location: 10,150 Feet Above Sea Level in Colorado | Registered: April 04, 2002Report This Post
Alea iacta est