SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Essential Edge    Thinking about ditching my Benchmade 551 Griptilian for a Kershaw Blur in S30V

Moderators: parabellum

Closed Topic Closed
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools
Thinking about ditching my Benchmade 551 Griptilian for a Kershaw Blur in S30V Login/Join 
Picture of elberettas
posted
Hello Everyone,

I have been carrying a plain edge Benchmade 551 Griptilian for at least a couple years now. I really like this knife, but don't think I'll ever use it to it's full potential. I really only use it to open mail or cut tags off of new clothes. My main reason for carrying a knife is (God forbid) self defense, since carrying a gun is close to impossible in CA. Anyway, I've always liked the Kershaw Blur in S30V. And seeing as how I can get one for half the price of the Griptilian, I'm strongly considering making the change. From what I can tell, I won't be losing anything quality wise. So... I'm looking to my fellow forum members and knife aficionados to talk me in or out of making the switch. As always, any and all input is greatly appreciated.

Posts: 1588 | Location: San Diego, CA | Registered: July 02, 2008Report This Post
eh-TEE-oh-clez
Picture of Aeteocles
posted Hide Post
If I only could have one?

I'd keep the Griptillian.

Axis lock is much stronger. Especially if your primary reason for carrying the knife is for self defense.

The 154CM is plenty sharp for opening packages and is much easier to sharpen than the S30V. If you are a casual knife user, then the 154CM makes more sense. Would rather have a knife that is easily sharpened, and sharpened frequently, than a knife that can get a theoretically sharper, but never gets sharpened.

Posts: 9411 | Location: Orange County, California | Registered: May 19, 2002Report This Post
Little ray
of sunshine
Picture of jhe888
posted Hide Post
You already have the Grip. Why not just keep it? You can't sell the BM for what you paid for it. You'd have to buy the Kershaw.