SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Essential Edge    Need your thoughts and opinions subject knives
Page 1 2 3 4 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Need your thoughts and opinions subject knives Login/Join 
Little ray
of sunshine
Picture of jhe888
posted Hide Post
There is someone for every knife, but the Cold Steel fans aren't usually knife sophisticates.

I like Benchmade and ZT. Also Spyderco.

The fish is mute, expressionless. The fish doesn't think because the fish knows everything.

Posts: 53117 | Location: Texas | Registered: February 10, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Kershaw knives have decent cutting edges that hold well, so long as not abused. I have several Kershaws that I've been using for two decades.

a Benchmade saved my life once, so I can't complain, but I haven't owned any since.

Cold Steel is hard to take seriously.

The Zero Tolerance line I have mixed feelings about; they're decent enough knives and I have a few, but I'd be on the fence with their cost vs. what one gets.

Spyderco, not mentioned, makes a lot of knives that seem to be "sprint runs" that come and go; their basic line has proven fairly ubiquitous over the years and I own a number of them. Good blades, generally speaking.

My favorite for carry are Emersons, though. I have a Kershaw Emerson-license in my pocket at the moment; they're very affordable and not a big headache if damaged or lost. My sole complaint about the actual emersons is the fragile pocket clip; I've lost track of the number of their pocket clips I've had that failed. They just don't last. Otherwise, good knives. I'd take an Emerson over a Benchmade.

Posts: 6650 | Registered: September 13, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Throwin sparks
makin knives
Picture of sybo
posted Hide Post
Out of the choices you are pondering, I like the quality, materials, designs, and price point levels within the brand that Benchmade offers. Good luck friend!