SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Essential Edge    Do you carry two knives?
Page 1 2 3 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Do you carry two knives? Login/Join 
posted
So, for several years I had carried a Kershaw Grid (Model 2200) primarily for self-defense while in the office (firearms are forbidden at work) and around town but it has also pulled double duty as a general utility knife (I work in IT). For Christmas this year my wife gave me a Benchmade Vallation (Model 407SBK) and I happily retired my trusty Grid for the Benchmade.

However, about two weeks ago in a moment of carelessness I used the Vallation to slice through some plastic and managed to also slice through my thumb with the surprisingly sharp knife. After about an hour of bleeding like a stuck pig I finally surrendered to the inevitable and went to the ER to have them super glue the inch long slice shut.

While mentioning this to some friends later that night and showing off the thumb I commented on my surprise at how easily it had opened me up (the Grid probably wouldn’t have made such a mess) and a friend commented that he also carried a Benchmade but only for self-defense and not for general utility purposes and, instead, relied on either his multi-tool or a second knife for day-to-day activities. Since then I have been considering a second knife and I was curious if anyone else carried two and, if they did, how they carried both knives. My Leatherman Wave does have a blade but usually by the time I realize I need it my left hand is already holding whatever needs cutting which makes getting to the Wave awkward.

Carrying a second knife has the added benefit of not scaring the muggles when I need a knife by flipping open the Vallation.

Laughing in the face of danger is all well and good until danger laughs back.

Posts: 496 | Location: Oklahoma | Registered: July 08, 2017Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Observer
Picture of phxtoad
posted Hide Post