SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Essential Edge    Fake VS genuine Spyderco PM2
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Fake VS genuine Spyderco PM2 Login/Join 
posted
I have a very used and slightly beat-up Spyderco PM2 that I received as part of a trade. I am not so much a fan of Spyderco knives, nothing against therm, I just prefer other brands. I put it for sale on another forum and sold it. Come to find out that the buyer was sure it was a fake. Apparently there is a huge market for fake Spyderco PM2 knives. Of course, I refunded the funds and he returned the knife. I saw the youtube video he shared with me, but I gotta be honest, I could not see any real tell tale differences between the knives. I'm no expert and while I plan to sell this thing, I want to make sure it's genuine. Could someone tell me any significant differences between the genuine article and the fake one?

Thanks

Posts: 378 | Registered: November 06, 2013Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Not really from Vienna
Picture of arfmel
posted Hide Post
Is this the video he shared with you?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LtuicWkNJoU

It seems fairly easy to differentiate between the fake and the real one, if you have a real one in hand for comparison.

Posts: 26893 | Location: Jerkwater, Texas | Registered: January 30, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
It is that video. Now that I have the knife back in my possession, so can see where the differences are between a real one and a fake one are. I really needed to have it in front of me to see the details.

Thanks for that. Looks like I’ll just sharpen it as best I can and put it in my tool box.

Posts: 378 | Registered: November 06, 2013Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Take the risk or
lose the chance
posted Hide Post