SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    PTSD is a nightmare
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

PTSD is a nightmare Login/Join 
Too old to run,
too mean to quit!
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Strambo:
Good luck and thank you! Though I've been a life-long soldier, thankfully, it is not something I have had to deal with personally.

All the training I have gotten on it says that it is short-term and treatable. (Or perhaps more correctly put; short-term if treated).

This is a problem in the military because it is also a label (that can be sometimes worn as a badge of "been there done that") and a permanent disability rating...

I wish you the best of luck, we need you around.

My youngest grandson (medically retired) has a major case of PTSD which the VA has been farting around with for months! I think they finally have decided to do something about it. I am not in the loop as the MRS handles it with him and the VA.

I can assure anyone that PTSD is not a fun thing to experience, whether personally or with a family member. It has been several years now and the VA is FINALLY getting their heads out of their collective asses.

Elk

There has never been an occasion where a people gave up their weapons in the interest of peace that didn't end in their massacre. (Louis L'Amour)

"To compel a man to furnish contributions of money for the propagation of opinions which he disbelieves and abhors, is sinful and tyrannical. "
-Thomas Jefferson

"America is great because she is good. If America ceases to be good, America will cease to be great." Alexis de Tocqueville

FBHO!!!

The Idaho Elk Hunter

Posts: 25643 | Location: Virginia | Registered: December 16, 2001Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Now in Florida
Picture of ChicagoSigMan
posted Hide Post
Most people think of PTSD as something that only soldiers get. Thanks for the reminder that there are others out there who are susceptible to the disease.