SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    3d Printing Question
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

3d Printing Question Login/Join 
Now in Florida
Picture of ChicagoSigMan
posted
I am interested in 3d printing for a specific application in chocolatiering...I want to create stencils that fit inside mold cavities so that I can spray color in patterns inside the mold. How complicated is it to design the piece that you want the printer to print? I've never done cad/cam before.

Posts: 6063 | Location: FL | Registered: March 09, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Unfortunately, the answer to your question is "it depends". I do a fair amount of 3d printing but I have been a draftsman for 30+ years and I'm sure I take certain things for granted.

However, if all you want to do is make a "negative" of something that will then transfer onto the surface of the chocolate, that might be pretty easy. The quick way would be to make a flat 2D "sketch" of the image and then "extrude" it to the appropriate depth. Then you would save or export the file into an .stl file or something similar. The .stl file then gets processed by slicer software (Cura is a decent freeware, meshmixer is another but I don't have much experience with it). The slicer creates gcode that is used by the 3d printer to control x,y,z movement as well as flow rate and temperature of the printer.

"Sketch" and "extrude" are the generic terms for the basic functions [commands] that most 3d software use. Sketch is just 2d drawing, extrude adds the 3rd dimension.