SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Any garage door experts? I'm raising my door railing 12"
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Any garage door experts? I'm raising my door railing 12" Login/Join 
posted
I plan on raising my door horizontal railing to accommodate my four post car lift.

I've watched a few Youtube videos, so I'm an expert but would like an input from any who've done something similar.

In essence, I just need to add 12" of vertical track. This will allow my horizontal track to hug the ceiling more. I plan on keeping all the same original tracks and angles. The bottom of my door, when raised, rests just below the top of the door frame. My thinking is to keep the same neutral position at the top (to keep the door balanced). I know there are a lot of steps (removing tension from springs etc), but from what I can gather I need the following:

1) 12" vertical track (either a 12" segment to go with my 88" track, or buy a 112" new track and cut down to 100"). I have extra track length at the end of my horizontal track that I can cannibalize. I'd then move the end of horizontal bracket anchor forward (fortunately my trusses are perpendicular to the mounts, so I can slide them forward and backward easily enough).

2) Cables - My 8' door has cables that are about 9' long (center of drum/torsion bar is 9' off the ground). I think if I buy 10' cables, it will be like having a 9' door with my drum/torsion bar at 10' (ceiling is 10' 3").

3) Cable drum is maxed out with a 8' door. In order to accommodate another 12" of cable, I need a wider cable drum to hold two or three more wrappings of the cable around the drum.

4) Vertical track brackets (size 6 and 7). I'll reuse the three already in place but I'll add one or two more for the 12" portion I'm adding.

Thoughts? I'd imagine there may be some things I may run into, but I don't think I can screw it up beyond repair (famous last words).

P229