SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Question For The Precious Metals Experts
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Question For The Precious Metals Experts Login/Join 
Conservative Behind
Enemy Lines
Picture of synthplayer
posted
For the last 10 years or more, I have been collecting American Silver Eagle Coins (ASE). Up until this year, the markup has been at most 2 bucks per coin. Why is the markup in 2021 over 10 bucks? And, more importantly, will this incredibly expensive markup always be this high from now on?

I found what you said riveting.

Posts: 10711 | Location: SF Bay Area | Registered: June 06, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
varied availability of physical versus spot(paper price) - thus price over spot is far higher for real, physical silver.

Posts: 513 | Location: SEMO | Registered: September 13, 2012Reply With QuoteReport This Post
blame canada
Picture of AKSuperDually
posted Hide Post
I am not an expert.

I've been watching mass interest in new persons interested in accumulating physical precious metals. Silver is the most approachable.

I'm in that camp also.

I listened to a long podcast some time back with a bunch of the larger silver distributors and suppliers (like APMEX) discussing low availability, and artificial influences historically in keeping silver prices down. I didn't understand most of it, but they all agreed that the silver market is changing.

I don't buy to hold and sell later, as a means of making money. I'm buying for other reasons, largely related to distrust of places where most people park their money, and what I see as a coming wave of persecution of certain peoples, of which I believe I will be among.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
"The trouble with our Liberal friends...is not that they're ignorant, it's just that they know so much that isn't so." Ronald Reagan, 1964
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~