SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Why Are Gun Stores So Awful?
Page 1 2 3 4 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Why Are Gun Stores So Awful? Login/Join 
Picture of caneau
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by steve495:
#1 - Online inventory synched with the brick & mortar store's inventory is much more complex than you think. A lot more complex, and the local gun shops don't have the IT budget of the Home Depot Corporation.

Having an online eCommerce solution tied to an easy-to-use retail point of sale system is just the beginning. What if you have multiple stores? How often do you synch? What if you have parts kits made of different parts that are also sold separately?

I've had conversations with Michelle from Top Gun Supply, and if you knew the costs and tribulations they have gone through to build/update/manage their online eCommerce and POS systems, you would not believe it.

I'm an IT manager. I know exactly how much it costs and how to do it. But for the lay person, yeah, it might be challenging. But then again, why open a store without having this as part of the business plan?

Posts: 5326 | Location: The Virginia side of DC | Registered: February 20, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of caneau
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by lyman:
quote:
Originally posted by Crockett040:
quote:
Originally posted by Rev. A. J. Forsyth:
1) Websites are expensive to develop, require constant fiddling and
updating, and are beyond the personal capabilities of many owners. Have
you ever noticed that the majority of "store's" websites you see look
the same? That's because it is a GearFire website with direct
distributor feed. The store doesn't actually have that shit in stock
and thus isn't paying to house it.

2) The staff reflect the demographic of gun enthusiasts.

3) Agree 100%.

4) Small margins, liability, etc.

5) The most successful stores I sell to are in neighborhoods where many in
the community hate them.