SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Survey regarding your hand tools
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Survey regarding your hand tools Login/Join 
posted Hide Post
6pt on sockets, 12pt on wrenches. If it needs more torque than the 12pt wrench can handle, then it's a boxed 6pt crowsfoot, or something else that I can get in there.

Posts: 437 | Registered: February 17, 2010Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
As Joe123 said, 6 pt on sockets but not on wrenches. When I was a yacht mechanic, I used six point wrenches often because of the numerous corroded fasteners.

-c1steve

Posts: 4052 | Location: West coast | Registered: March 31, 2012Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of Greymann
posted Hide Post
No love for spline sockets? My first choice is spline or 6 point.

Posts: 1549 | Location: New Mexico | Registered: March 21, 2017Reply With QuoteReport This Post
His diet consists of black
coffee, and sarcasm.
Picture of egregore
posted Hide Post
quote:
No love for spline sockets?

Not love, exactly. I have a set of box ratchets of this type …

… that are spline drive. They do work equally well on 6-pt., 12 pt. and external Torx, as advertised. Unlike the claims, they do not work on a fastener that has been rounded off even slightly. They also tend to bite in and get stuck, and because this particular type isn't reversible, can be annoying at times. Nevertheless, they are one of my most used tools and I have been unable to break them. So, like a lot, but not love. These are my only spline drive tools.

Posts: 27914 | Location: Johnson City, TN | Registered: April 28, 2012Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of wrightd
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by amals:
I have both; tend to think of six point as stronger,twelve point as a little more versatile. Why do you ask?