SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Building a wood shop---question for the pros here
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Building a wood shop---question for the pros here Login/Join 
186,000 miles per second.
It's the law.

posted
So I bought a 1948 Delta Rockwell Unisaw. It is great. Frigging tank! 3 HP motor with 3 belts, single phase, and in really good condition. Biesemeyer fence. I love it. Electrician is coming next week to add a 240V outlet in the garage. Actually two outlets---one more for a serious garage heater for working in the winter. Already have a drill press, band saw, belt sander and lots of power hand tools. I need a jointer and a planer. I am thinking of buying old heavy Delta stuff. Any recs for certain models and years? I am an amateur, and I know there are some serious wood-workers here on SF. Thanks in advance.

Posts: 3251 | Registered: August 19, 2001Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I'm not a pro, but would offer a bit of advice:

BE CAREFUL and never work tired.

Those old tools are well made and work great, but lack many of the modern design and safety features. Your fingers will appreciate your undivided attention to the task at hand.

Posts: 8954 | Location: The Red part of Minnesota | Registered: October 06, 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post
It's the law.

posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by MNSIG:
I'm not a pro, but would offer a bit of advice:

BE CAREFUL and never work tired.

Those old tools are well made and work great, but lack many of the modern design and safety features. Your fingers will appreciate your undivided attention to the task at hand.

Yes I agree. I am super careful. I treat those machines like a loaded gun.

Picture of mark60
posted Hide Post
Delta DJ20 is one of the gold standards in jointers on the used market but you usually have to be quick and lucky to snag a good deal.