SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    New vehicle first oil change
Page 1 2 3 4 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

New vehicle first oil change Login/Join 
Not really from Vienna
Picture of arfmel
posted Hide Post
I change mine at 5k miles despite the oil minder saying there’s 30% oil life left. I regularly drive on dirt roads in 100+ degree heat and I don’t trust the capacity of the itsy bitsy oil filter on my truck.

Posts: 26852 | Location: Jerkwater, Texas | Registered: January 30, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Too clever by half
Picture of jigray3
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by btanchors:
I've performed hundreds of UOAs (Used oil analyses) since the mid-1970's, and still do to this day. (I'm an amateur tribologist)

There is no question that analytically, oil contains far more contaminants from metals in the first several thousand miles of an engine's life. This is an established fact that cannot be refuted, because I have proven it repeatedly dozens of times, on lots of different vehicles.

What I CANNOT state as fact is how significant these increased metals are.

On average, it takes 3 - 4 oil changes to get the levels to establish themselves at whatever levels are normal for that engine. In general, contaminant levels stabilize between 20 - 30 thousand miles.

In my opinion, early oil changes are probably a waste of money. That said, I do have my first oil change around 1,000 miles just because it makes me "feel better".

But in reality, any real difference from early oil changes is probably so small, that you're more likely to get rid of the car for reasons other than a worn-out engine.

My $0.02...