SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Obamacare Replacement by GOP
Page 1 ... 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 ... 55
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Obamacare Replacement by GOP Login/Join 
wishing we
were congress
posted Hide Post
quote:
Why can't they just simply write, "The individual mandate is hereby abolished",

here is my opinion of the answer. I am not an expert.

The legislative filibuster is a Senate policy. It is not in the constitution.

But you need 60 senators to introduce a bill for a vote. Once the bill gets on the floor for consideration, you only need 51 votes to pass it.

Cloture is the procedure for ending the initial debate and taking a vote. You need 60 votes to end cloture.

This is what the REPs just changed for Supreme Court nominations to get Gorsuch confirmed.

There is a way past the initial cloture 60 vote requirement for "reconciliation" where the bill only addresses tax and spending adjustments. That only needs the 51 votes to pass. Reconciliation issues can't be filibustered.

With the 48 DEM senators, they can block legislation from passing in the Senate.

So the REPs had to carefully tailor the bill HR 1628 so it only addresses tax and spending. That way it fell under reconciliation.

We won't get by the DEM Senate filibuster with a broad bill that does things like "the individual mandate is abolished".

Like I wrote earlier, I may not be completely accurate on this.

Posts: 19504 | Registered: July 21, 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Lawyers, Guns
and Money
Picture of chellim1
posted Hide Post
quote:
So the REPs had to carefully tailor the bill HR 1628 so it only addresses tax and spending. That way it fell under reconciliation.

That's correct. But my previous answer was only half joking!