SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    This Sunday, Some Churchgoers May Choose to Pack Guns With Their Bibles
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

This Sunday, Some Churchgoers May Choose to Pack Guns With Their Bibles Login/Join 
Picture of Uppster
posted Hide Post
I bet there were more guns in churches this morning than any gun show

God,Guns,Cars,& 1Wife, I would say I have it all.

Posts: 1448 | Location: Independence MO | Registered: January 17, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Prepared for the Worst, Providing the Best
Picture of 92fstech
posted Hide Post
I go to a small church...there are probably about 75-80 attendees on any given Sunday, and that includes children. I know of at least 3 other people who carry every Sunday...and there are probably more. My pastor is a younger guy from the city...not quite as right-leaning as most of the locals. I think at first he was a little taken aback when he found out. I explained to him that as a cop, I carry everywhere, and my department expects me to. If my gun can't go, I don't go.

He's come to realize over the years that we're not a bunch of crazed gun nuts...we just believe in protecting ourselves and our families. He even asked me to do a talk on gun safety one time during a men's breakfast at the church, complete with a few firearms for familiarization/show-and-tell. I'd be interested to have another talk with him now, considering recent events, to get his take on things.

My dad is a pastor of a rural church in Ohio. There are a number of active and retired cops, as well as plenty of hunters and firearms enthusiasts in his congregation. He has openly encouraged members to carry to church. If anybody ever tried to pull a stunt like Sutherland Springs in his church, they'd likely be cleaning him out of the foyer with a mop and shovel.

Posts: 8415 | Location: In the Cornfields | Registered: May 25, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
If you see me running
try to keep up