SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    How to be actually fit without it being an all-consuming hobby
Page 1 2 3 4 5 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

How to be actually fit without it being an all-consuming hobby Login/Join 
posted
So, the thread on muscle build rate got me thinking about the following info, but I didn't want to drift it. Though I'm not a fitness professional, I was at one time (briefly) a certified personal trainer and I am constantly increasing my fitness knowledge just for myself. Mainly, to make my workouts as efficient and effective as possible so I can free up time for my life.

It kills me to see people putting in the effort knowing what they are doing is largely a waste of time (and that is most people I see "working out.")

First, if all you care about is your shape (dimension, how you look), it is 90%+ nutrition. For most people, the best way to get "toned" is just to lower your body fat % to reveal what is already there. This post isn't about nutrition though.

So for fitness, step one is to identify your goal and purpose for working out. Is it general health? Performance? Looks? No wrong answer. Most people get this far, but don’t take the next step.

Step two-refine that goal. Health-just general health or is there a particular focus? (heart/cardio, bone density, flexibility?) Performance....what kind? Strength? (limit strength, strength-endurance, relative strength, combination?) "Cardio"? (anaerobic or aerobic or both?) Appearance? (look like a skinny model? Fitness model? Bodybuilder? -or at least make progress towards one of these)