SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Aviation (Jumbo) Question
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Aviation (Jumbo) Question Login/Join 
Deeds Not Words
posted
Being in the navy for 26 years, I consider myself a frequent flyer. Today was my first ride in the A380. On climb out and descent (and for a while at alt of 37k) she felt like she kept surging without any discernible change in engine tones. If we were in a car the feeling was like when you start starving the engine of fuel and she “stutters”. For as much as she displaces, she felt like she was moving around quite a bit and the takeoff rollout seemed to take forever— not acceleration like a 747...but I am a ship driver and well outside my wheelhouse on this one. Just curious! Thanks guys.

Navy BMD: When "Aim High" isn't High Enough!

Posts: 62 | Registered: August 05, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of sourdough44
posted Hide Post
If I was there, maybe I’d have a better feel for specifics. It sounds like you rule out external forces, like turbulence or annoying chop?

With engine changes, maybe some type of ‘harmonics’ as power changes occur? Another possibility is how the climb & descent is set up in the ‘flight management computer’. Since it’s a foreign carrier, many lean autopilot over manually flying the plane a fair portion of the departure or arrival. Power changes as one meets restrictions, level offs & climbs can be less than smooth as auto-throttles adjust power.

There are several schools of thought as one settles in for a 14 hour flight to the Far East. Most will do a ‘cruise climb’ where the passengers hardly perceive the plane is climbing. At the most there is a slight pressure change in the ears, then a peek at the flight map.

I have seen a few who do a higher power climb at a quicker rate. The reasoning is, ‘to let them know we’re awake up here’. That thought is rather rare.