SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Caulking Windows
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Caulking Windows Login/Join 
Dances With
Tornados
posted
I've never in my life had to caulk windows or doors. Surely it's simple but I have a question.

Do I want to use an outside caulk for the exterior of the windows, and an interior caulk for the inside, in the house, side?

I had all new windows, and a couple doors, installed about 8 years ago. In this last few weeks, when it got down to 3 and 6 degrees, some areas of the house were downright COLD! I have a big window in the master bath and I noticed the curtains were moving! Same with a few other windows and doors. An inspection revealed cracked and shrunk caulking.

I'm going to do this, just need a bit of advice.
Anything else I need to know besides what kind and type of caulk to buy?

And even further inspection reveals I'll need to caulk sinks, counter tops and shower, etc.

Thanks in advance.

Posts: 11839 | Registered: October 26, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Man Once
Child Twice
posted Hide Post
You probably need some pics. There’s a difference between caulk and spackling depending on the job. Lots of variables here.

Posts: 11148 | Location: NE OHIO | Registered: October 22, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of bigmule
posted Hide Post
shrinkage....it happens. Especially when its super cold for a spell.
And 8 years out, yea, expect it.

If the gap is 1/4 or smaller, pheonseal is your buddy. interior or exterior, read the label, home despot has it, as any paint shop would...but maybe wait a bit for the temp to get above the desired application directions.(40d+ outside).

chase the bead with a moist paper towel for a nice clean finish..one thing a lot of folks don't do, which is matey import, is remove the old caulk...its a key to a good finish..

A bad caulk job is an eye sore.

Posts: 2330 | Registered: July 31, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of grumpy1