SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Dodge diesel pickup early to mid 2000's
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Dodge diesel pickup early to mid 2000's Login/Join 
Green grass and
high tides
Picture of old rugged cross
posted
So I have some knowledge but do need some clarification. We are talking the 2500 and maybe the 3500 series diesel 4x4 trucks. Prefer a crew cab shortbox but am open. I know they made both the 5.9 and the 6.7. I think they may have even made them in the same year. Not sure on that.

I have a rig I am thinking on selling that I am really not using. If I do I am considering buying a pre def diesel Dodge pickup or flatbed that I need for hauling and towing. I would prefer the 6sp manual transmission but an automatic would be fine too. I would love to be in the lower $20k range.

I would like to know anything worth while about a possible purchase from those who have first hand knowledge and expertise. I would not be opposed to a duramax but the dodge is my preference.

Thanks guys.

with my budget what can I expect to get or should I be looking to get.

"Practice like you want to play in the game"

Posts: 19160 | Registered: September 21, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Just because you can,
doesn't mean you should
posted Hide Post
I have an 02 5.9 that I use to tow a large trailer.
The ideal one is a 03 1/2 so you have the better transmission and fuel injection. No idea what the prices are for these.

Posts: 9495 | Location: NE GA | Registered: August 22, 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of Twist
posted Hide Post
The 5.9 is one of the most ridiculous engines ever made. I own a 2001 7.3 F250 that my daughter drives every day and it’s a helluva truck but that 5.9 CTD rivals it at minimum, except for the transmission. While the Ford offering in that year range is nothing to get excited about the Dodge/Ram offering is even less excitable.