SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Calling all Virginia members. Movement to declare cities/counties in VA second amendment sanctuary cities is gaining momentum. Has your city voted?
Page 1 ... 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 ... 96
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Calling all Virginia members. Movement to declare cities/counties in VA second amendment sanctuary cities is gaining momentum. Has your city voted? Login/Join 
wishing we
were congress
posted Hide Post
Skins,

thanks for that post above. I was unaware of the law you identified.

I am not a lawyer. I am certainly not a VA constitution expert. But lets explore this a bit. Let's put the two pieces together. What is the number one argument against the 2A? Usually it is about the definition of a "well regulated militia".

Part One:

Virginia Article I Bill of Rights

Section 13 Militia; standing armies; military subordinate to civil power.

That a well regulated militia, composed of the body of the people, trained to arms, is the proper, natural, and safe defense of a free state, therefore, the right of the people to keep and bear arms shall not be infringed

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Part Two:

VA 44 - Military Laws of Virginia

§ 44-1. Composition of militia .

The militia of the Commonwealth of Virginia shall consist of all able-bodied residents of the Commonwealth who are citizens of the United States and all other able-bodied persons resident in the Commonwealth who have declared their intention to become citizens of the United States, who are at least 16 years of age and, except as hereinafter provided, not more than 55 years of age .

The militia shall be divided into three classes: the National Guard, which includes the Army National Guard and the Air National Guard; the Virginia Defense Force; and the unorganized militia .

§ 44-4. Composition of unorganized militia.